Frequently Asked Questions:
How can I enroll for a class? – Call 832-350-6313 to find out the scheduled courses and leave a message for when you would like to enroll. Someone will contact you to confirm current space where you can confirm the date selected, or you can use the contact form on this website to reserve your seat.
Where is the VFW Hall located in Baytown? – 8204 N. Main St. Baytown, Texas 77521- A map is located under the “Location” Tab at the top of the screen.
What are the distances I should practice shooting from? Students are tested on the shooting skills from 3 yards, 7 yards and 15 yards.
What do I need to bring to class? – Everyone must bring a handgun that is in good working order in a minimum caliber of .32 caliber.
What should I wear? – The classroom will be an air conditioned room and a light jacket or sweater may be needed. Clothing should also be selected to protect exposed areas of your body from hot flying brass.
Are handguns permitted in the classroom? – ALL weapon’s must be kept secured in your personal vehicle until you are told to retrieve for the firearms proficiency portion of the class.
Which type of handgun should I use to take to my CHL class? – It is recommended that individuals take their Concealed Handgun License shooting proficiency test with a semi-automatic handgun. If you take this test with a revolver your license will indicate (NSA) which is a restriction for you to carry a revolver only. However, If you take a semi-automatic weapon for this test, you are permitted to carry either a semi-automatic or a revolver.
Are handguns available at the class for students use? No, students must bring their own handgun or make other arrangements for the shooting proficiency portion of class. *Limited Firearms will be available for rent for an additional fee, please ask for availability before you reserve your seat.
What is the States cost for CHL Licenses and CHL License Renewals? Licenses are $140 (over 60 years old = $70) and Renewals are $70 (over 60 years = $35).
How long does it take to get your license back from the state? The State advises 4 – 6 weeks. However, you can track the progress of your license on the Texas Department website. You can find a link on the front page of this website on the right hand side of the screen.
When will my license expire? – Your license will expire in 5 years after your initial issue date on your next birthday.
How soon can I renew my CHL License prior to its expiration? The state will send a note approximately 6 months before the license is due to expire. You can attend a renewal class and send your paperwork in at anytime during this 6 month alert period.
If I already took the class but did not send in my paperwork, how long after the class can these documents be submitted? – The certificate that the instructor supplies upon successful completion of class is valid for one year after the class date. If the documents are not submitted to the state within that 1 year period, the class must be repeated.
If I get stopped by the police for any reason and I have my CHL weapon with me, how should I handle this situation? – It is recommended to produce your Concealed Handgun License along with your Drivers License. The Law Enforcement Officer will most likely ask at that time if you are in possession of your weapon and ask where it is being concealed if so. Please keep your hands where the officer can see them and do not attempt to SHOW the officer where your weapon is concealed. Regardless of the fact you are carrying or not, if the Law Enforcement Officer requests to see your Conceal Carry License you are required to produce said license (GC 411.205).
We accept credit cards